Day out

Jelena

This past weekend the weather was amazing, 71 degrees Fahrenheit slight breeze… Perfection.  Record highs for this time of year.  I was able to spend some of my time outside working in the garden and exploring.  My Witch Hazel Jelena decided to make an appearance over the weekend.  It has grown well for me, not as fragrant as I had hoped to I am thinking of replacing it and transplanting it to my parents where they have room to spare.  I can not tell you how much I adore Witch Hazels.  If I had more land I would make Chris Lane proud, I would have hundreds of them.  You would be able to smell them from miles away.  Oh, it would be heaven.

Ascot Rainbow

Here is a shot of my Ascot Rainbow Euphorbia.  She has done wonderful for me.  In the colder weather the yellow margins get a blush of pink and stand out nicely in the landscape.  It is the only Euphorbia that has grown good for me and returned year after year.  Others that I have had have died back during winter and never seen from again.

Caught

My Hidcote Lavender has a hostage.  After all of the snow and ice we have had a lot of the blooms from the past year off my Vanilla Strawberry Hydrangea have broken off and are blowing around in the garden like tumble weeds.

Mud pit

My little helper having fun and making a mud stew.  I believe children can never spend too much time outside so every time I go out I have at least one of my little garden fairies.  It always makes for an interesting trek outside.

Digging

I still has some plants left to plant that I ordered for year end clearance.  It was a good day with no causalities, I managed not to hit any existing bulbs.

Well I still have lots to do before sleep and it is already getting late.  I hear my kitchen timer going off calling me to get the cookies out.

Wishing everyone a wonderful day full of family and friends tomorrow.

Till next time!

5 thoughts on “Day out

  1. Whoa, you left cookies in the oven when you went outside?!? You must be young enough that you still have some short term memory. 🙂

  2. 71 degrees! How wonderful. I share your love of witch hazels; they are irresistible. I have Helena, Pallida and Arnold Promise. Before I moved here I had one called ‘Strawberries and Cream’ which was divine I haven’t been able to find it since I’ve been here.
    I love that Euphorbia, I haven’t seen it before.
    Chloris

    • It was wonderful out! Yes, I would surely I would go bankrupt collecting Witch Hazels! I looked up the ‘Strawberries and Cream’ it looks magnificent! The Arnold’s Promise is truly a wonderful tree, the fragrance on him is other worldly. Do you have any Euphorbias that do well for you? I have been thinking about adding more to my collection. Have a happy New Years!

      Erica

  3. I love Euphorbia mellifera which grows into a large shrub and smells of honey. A smaller one that I love is Euphorbia ‘Tasmanian Tiger’, it has leaves edged in cream.
    Happy New Year to you too.
    Chloris

Leave a Reply

