Oh deer!

Unfortunately, not much has been happening in the garden these past couple weeks.  No plants emerging from dormancy.  The only action that has really been going on is unwanted visitors…. deer.  The deer seemed to have eaten everything in sight. They even ate stuff that supposedly they do not eat like the Hellebore, Lavender and Geraniums they ate. Yeah right,   I guess they did not get that memo. Some of my causalities can be seen below.

This past fall we decided to install a fence around our garden.  We dropped of the girls at my mothers and we were able to finish the fence in a day and but did not have time to make the two gates.  So the deer found their way in the garden by walking into the 4 foot sections that we had left open for the gates.  I thought the plants would be okay because we live in a subdivision, but nope the deer just walked right in. Every time I thought we might have time to finally finish the gates something came up.  Yesterday was “the day.”  

My beautiful Heuchera ‘Green Spice’  is no more. 😦

 Cora Bell Green Spice BeforeCora Bell Green Spice after

and my Camellia sasanqua ‘Kanjiro has no more blooms and is now twigs (they have revisited it since this photograph.)  I am hoping that everything that they ate will make a fast  recovery in the Spring, though it will most likely take more time for the Camellia. But I am hopeful!

Camellia

Well, with help from my professional gate installer,we were able to finish both gates.  Ha! no more deer getting in my garden. YAY!

 Gate Installer pic 2Gate installer

 

I hope everyone has a great Monday!

15 thoughts on “Oh deer!

  1. You poor thing how awful. Deer are the most destructive of all the unwelcome visitors to my garden. We have horrible little muntjac deer which are ugly and viscous. One attacked my dog with its nasty down-turned tusks.. I hope your gates keep the deer out. What a dear little gate installer you have.

    • Thank you! I hope the gates work as well. She is so curious about anything hands on. This past weekend gate installer, yesterday a plumber, today a princess, tomorrow who knows! I wish you luck and hope the deer miss your garden and stay clear of your pets.

  2. It sure is good to have a little help! Sorry to see your deer damage. I fear that someday they will make their way here too, and you can bet there will be a fence put up…..
    Hope your plantings recover quickly!

    • Thank you! They are good at destroying plants and trees fast along with groundhogs. I would not wish them upon any gardeners yard. I hope that once spring starts they will make a quick recovery.

  3. we have deer here in the city too! I found 7 in our front yard one evening. I found one running down the road on the pavement one day–felt sorry for it, but I don’t like it when they eat my stuff! I can’t put food items in the front unless they are protected. My father + mother live in the country and they use “ivory soap” or “irish spring’ and that seems to work. they put it around in the spring where they don’t want them to travel. I have heard other people say it works. I need to put some out this year since we have new neighbors that put up new fences and so they are having to find a new trail. Their trail goes down the street and down to the river, but sometimes they wander my way. People were getting in accidents from them in the city, so they were trying to thin them out this past fall…we even have turkeys in the city….crazy!

    • Yes I feel sorry for them as well. But like you, I do not like when they eat my stuff! A spray that has worked for me in the past is called deer stopper. The deer stopper does not smell too bad, a little like mint and rosemary. It has been so rainy and snowy here that the spray would just wash right off. I wish you good luck in keeping them away from your garden!

      • It is not as readily available as like deer off or liquid fence but I find this one works better and is not as horrible smelling. The concentrate form works better for me. Hope it works for you!

  4. I read up on deer before I enclosed a small patch of garden area. They can ‘still jump’ 9 feet high and 15 feet if running, but they usually try to poke under a fence first. If you’re installing a wire fence, curl it outward at the bottom about a foot. I know that eats up precious height, but at the top (about 6 or 7 feet up, you can string some fishing line. If they can’t see the top of the fence clearly, they won’t jump. It’s worked well around the blue berries, string beans, and strawberries for three years now.

    • Yes, thank you! I have a wooden fence at my home and a wire one around my veggie plot at my parents. I am hoping that with the wooden gates up now they will no longer try… if not I will have to try the wire as well. Thank you for the tips!

  5. Oh no! How very frustrating, I have a friend who regularly had muntjac visit and eat the Camellias, hard to imagine why that leaf is so tasty to them. They did recover though and are grown in very tall planters now. Good luck!

    • Yes I agree, it is very frustrating when plants get gobbled. I would not think that they would be too tasty, they have a very thick hard leaf… as with Hellebores and they ate those too, so I guess we just have the wrong idea. It is good to know that they made a recovery,thank you. Hopefully next winter it will have a nice display.

Leave a Reply

