Café Love

My oldest daughter celebrated her birthday this week, so this weeks arrangement was inspired by her love of pink.  I will say that it is one of my favorites too so it might be where she got it from 🙂

Pink Arrangement pic 1

Pink Arrangement pic 2

The flower that stole the show again was the Dahlia ‘Café Au Lait.’  I cannot get over how much I love this flower.  This Dahlia is one of the best I have grown.  Great flower producer! I purchased the tuber from Sunny Meadows Flower Farm this spring as a part of a fundraiser they were having to help rebuild one of their greenhouses.

Pink Arrangement pic 3

Cafe au lait

Cafe au lait pic 2

 

Other flowers that were added in include;  Nanho Blue Butterfly Bush, Red Lime Queen Zinnia, Cramer’s Amazon Celosia and Wendy’s Wish Salvia.  The Wendy’s Wish is a other one that I cannot get enough of as well.  For me it is an annual so I have to replant every year but I do not mind.  It supplies blooms from late spring till frost.   I noticed a light fragrance this year which seems strange because I have not before but it is welcomed.  Also a great Hummingbird attractant!

Butterfly Bush

Lime Queen

Cramers Amazon Celosia

Wendys Wish close up

I hope everyone is having a great day!

 

9 thoughts on “Café Love

  1. Oh Flora, this is just beautiful, what a wonderful floral display. My Dahlias are really disappointing this year and yours are fabulous. Happy Birthday to your daughter too.

    • Thank you, she had a great birthday! I have other Dahlias that have been disappointing as well this one has done the best for me and it sounds like others have had a problem with them this year. So we are not alone.

  2. Happy birthday wishes! The dahlia looks great, I never thought of it as pink based on the descriptions I’ve heard, but it surely is. Wendy’s wish looks nice in there. I didn’t plant it this year and miss it, but was feeling a little too frugal this spring when I saw the price tag. I should have just been happy to have found it!

    • Thank you, the flowers on the Café au Lait sort of fade to the peachy color that is associated with it so it is enough pink to fool one at the beginning on if it is really the right one. I completely understand – I almost did not buy it as well but I remembered how much the hummingbirds loved it and I broke down and got it lol. Next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

