Fall Encore

What is blooming in your fall garden now?  Here is what is in mine.

I do not care much for this time of year when we have had light frosts.  But the frost does enough damage so that all the all my flowers turn black and annuals have all mushed.  Every year I try and add more to the garden to try so that my time without flowers gets shorter.

My Dendranthemas have done exceptional for me this year.  I am very impressed with how well they have done with the frosts and how long the flowers last on them.  My favorite is a butter cream colored one that I planted last fall, which of course I can not remember the name of it or find the tag.

dendranthemum pic 2

Dendranthemum

A new one for me this year is Purple Mist and as a cut flower it is outstanding, very long-lasting.

Dendranthemum purple mist

dendranthemums

Some fall crocus are lasting very well.

Crocus cartwrightianus 'Albus'

Crocus cartwrightianus ‘Albus’

Crocus ochroleucus

Crocus ochroleucus

Another absolute favorite which was a pleasant surprise is a fall blooming snowdrop.  It came to me labeled as Galanthus elwesii var. monostictus ‘Hiemalis’ but it is not, but I love it nonetheless.

Happy gardening!

One thought on “Fall Encore

  1. Those airy daisy shaped mums are the best, so beautiful and graceful, I bet they’re perfect for little girls to play with!
    They do make the slide into winter more bearable.

Leave a Reply

